Event Description

Ann Cleeves was awarded an OBE in 2022 for her services to reading and libraries – just one of the many accolades she has earned in a prolific career as a writer of crime novels. Ann spent many years living in Scotland and the North East, which provided the settings for her phenomenally successful series, Shetland and Vera, and the subsequent television programmes. Her six Inspector Stephen Ramsay murder mysteries are based in Northumberland were first published in the 1990s and have become collectors’ items. All six books are being reissued in striking new editions from June 2024.

However, Ann returns to the north Devon towns and coastline of her childhood as the backdrop for her Two Rivers series featuring Detective Inspector Matthew Venn. In the third of the series, The Raging Storm, the body of a returning sailor, adventurer and local legend is found in a dinghy at Greystone in Devon and soon followed by another suspicious death. As the stormy winds howl and the village is cut off, DI Venn and his team start their investigation, little realising their own lives might be in danger…

This event is held at The Acorn Theatre.

Photo credit: Marie Fitzgeralld Photography


Thursday 4th July 2024
7:30 pm - 9:00 pm